A Half Bitten Grape

Have you ever experienced a dream in your sleep, a dream that feels so real that you think it must have a meaning? It feels real not only because it has a lot of significance relationship with your daily life, but because in a weird way, it grabs your attention very tight. Such a dreams are hard to forget, and I have a lot of weird dreams that make me keep thinking about it when I awake.

It was when I was 5 years old. I used to wake up in the middle of the night. It was the same dream all over again. One of the weirdest dream I’ve ever experienced.

In my dream they were my maid, me, and a grape.

I was standing on my bed, looking at the ceiling. There she was, my maid. She was doing her job as usual, looked like she found her way into the ceiling. It was weird, since you can’t access the ceiling in my room. And to be precise, it’s actually not a ceiling. It looked like a space between a ceiling and my bedroom wall.

I looked up at her and call her name, but she didn’t answer me. She was busy with something. I was scared, because I feel like I’m alone in my bedroom and I need to see her immediately. I tried to jump on my bed to get me up there, but it failed. It seemed like she didn’t hear me at all.

I called her name again, and I thought that one worked. She stopped, and looked at me with a weird face.

“What are you doing down there?” she asked.

“Well… I don’t know, I was took a nap and here I am.” I was confused.

She didn’t answer. She just keep staring at me. It looks bizarre, though. She looked like a different person. There’s something unusual about her eyes.

“Can you take me up there?” I asked her again, desperately.

She disappeared into the dark. It looked like she was trying to get something. Later on, she came back with something on her hand.

“Take this.”

She dropped something into my hand. I caught it, and examined it before my eyes.

It was a grape.

“What is this for?” I asked her.

“Just eat it.” she said. “Eat it, and you can join me up here.”

“Really??” I was excited, because I was afraid to be left alone in my bedroom. Slowly, I tasted the grape. But I didn’t finish it, for I only took a bite.

“Well, what are you waiting for? Finished it. And you can come up here. With me.” it looks like she was smiling when she said that. I wasn’t sure, though. The room was too dark.

“I don’t want it.” I didn’t know why I said that, but I knew for sure that something wrong are going to happened if I swallowed all of that grape.

“It’s okay. You’ll be all right. Just one bite and it’s all over.”

“Where are my parents?” I asked her again.

She paused for a minute, and said “you’ll meet them once you finish eating that.”

“Are you promise?”

She didn’t answered that. She just looked at me with her weird, unusual eyes, and slowly she was disappeared into the space between my bedroom ceiling and my bedroom wall, she was vanished into the dark.

I was calling her name desperately when I found myself woke up in my bedroom, alone. It was a gloomy afternoon, and the bedroom was dark. I got up from my bed, ran into the living room, screaming her name when I found her there.

She was doing her usual job, sweeping the living room. When her eyes met mine, she said;

“Were you just awake? You really have to eat your food immediately, young man. And after that, you must take a bath. Mother are gonna be home in a moment, and I won’t take a risk to not putting you into that bath!”

I was so happy to found her again.

Leave a Reply

