Daydreaming

I love movies. I always look up at a movie and appreciate it as another form of art. Movies are something that should be treat seriously. Yes, indeed, people are not making movies for art’s sake only. They’re making it for money too – not only for money, but we have to face the fact; without money, they won’t be any movie – but the fact that there are so many excellent movie out there makes me believe that we could make a good movie as well.

This thought lead me to another thought. Like I said before on my previous posts, I love wayang and stories related to them. For me, Mahabarata and Ramayana are two of the best epic stories ever told. I also a big fan of Bible and Koran stories, but if I have to choose one of the best between four of them, I would like to say Mahabarata.

Like we all know, there are several movies that pick their story based on Bible or Koran. Movie like The Ten Commandments, The Prince of Egypt (1998), or The Messenger. But I couldn’t recall any movie which the story based on Mahabarata or Ramayana. Yes, we used to watch Mahabarata TV series when we’re a kid, but I’m not talking about TV series here. I’m talking about a big, colossal, movie. I’m talking about The Lord of The Rings (LOTR) proportions. LOTR is – in my opinion – a movie that successfully brought the original book’s soul into the silver screen.

Kurusetra Field
Kurusetra Field

It might be a little different if we compare LOTR and Mahabarata. Both of them have a complex characters, an overlapped stories, and the most important is, both of them has their own dimension. Yet, while LOTR has it’s simplicity when it comes to their mythology, Mahabarata is a very bold and deep epic. I don’t say that LOTR is simple as in cheesy, it is simple as in easier to understand and it sorta has the black and white area rather than a gray one.

What I’m trying to say here, if Peter Jackson manage to direct LOTR, someone should try Mahabarata. I know that it would be a very difficult thing to do. In fact, it would be harder than LOTR, because Mahabarata has a lot of characters, important events (almost all events in Mahabarata are important), important lines, etc. For what its worth, it would also be one of the most spectacular movie ever made (if they do it right, of course).

Every element in Mahabarata fell into an epic proportion. Even the story itself is epic. From the Hastinapura kingdom, the Castles, the Kurusetra field, the characters. It would be amazing to watch Baratayudha (the final war between Pandawa and Kurawa) in a silver screen, with a perfect sound design and sound editing. I just can imagine the image of arrows, fire, horses, the heroes and villains.

All we need right now is the perfect director (there are a lot ofย  them, but we hadn’t given them a chance to prove it), and a bunch of money. I would say $250 million would be enough. FYI, Wall-E (2008) costs $250 million. Oh, and we need a good and a nice producer to make it all happen.

9 thoughts on “Daydreaming

  1. When I first read this post, the first thing in my mind was “wow I want to know mahabrata stories..”. I grew up in a family that didn’t really care about anything related to indonesian culture.. In fact, to be honest, and don’t be so surprised, the first time I know -or more likely “heard”- about srories and philosophies of wayang was when I helped you with one of your assignments about museum wayang.. That was the first time I felt that I had missed something so good by not knowing or didn’t bother to know.. So hope some good producer or whatever read this post and think the same as you or me or other people who read this and have same thought as us, and be brave enough to realise this dream.

  2. When I first read this post, the first thing in my mind was “wow I want to know mahabrata stories..”. I grew up in a family that didn’t really care about anything related to indonesian culture.. In fact, to be honest, and don’t be so surprised, the first time I know -or more likely “heard”- about srories and philosophies of wayang was when I helped you with one of your assignments about museum wayang.. That was the first time I felt that I had missed something so good by not knowing or didn’t bother to know.. So hope some good producer or whatever read this post and think the same as you or me or other people who read this and have same thought as us, and be brave enough to realise this (day)dream.

  3. I never forgot your help, Pen. And it also makes me happy that I could introduced this awesome and beautiful stories in your life.๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I strongly think one single director simply will not suffice. To envelope the wholeness of Mahabarata you must have Quentin’s Tarantino’s wits, Donnie Yen’s choreographing level of fighting scenes, the directing ability to project raw, colossal battles into screen at the very least equal to that of John Woo’s, Yoshitaka Murayama’s warm bittersweet storytelling, and finally the heartiness of Garin Nugroho, who is probably the only person who can grasp the emotion out of that epic legendarium and paint it at the screen. Well, if there’s anything i can say about the only indonesian i’ve mentioned on the list, is that he would surely be ecstatic to direct this. It’s possible if those 5 are willing to join forces. Kekekekekk, an utopian movie pipe dream of mine. But hey, i expect no less from a movie of this caliber. If someone DARE to implement this movie outta half-arsed directing capabilities, they can push their heads deep into their own rear-end for all i care.

    1. Kekekeke, that would be a dream team, Ndo. I just can’t stop imagining how awesome this movie gonna be, you know. The story itself has almost everything to make it a perfect movie. A perfect summer Indonesian movie, LOL.๐Ÿ˜€
      I would love to see that happened, for sure. And to see Indonesian children idolize the character, and the adults keep talking and discussing about how deep the story was, how good the editing, how awesome the special effects, how marvelous the script was, how brilliant the score was…
      Ooops, look at me daydreaming again. :p

  5. Now I found another person who wish Peter Jackson have an interest to put Mahabharata into a movie. First is my husband and you are the second one! My husband also said about the rumor of the finding site of kurukshetra war, which bring the possibility that the war might really exist. keren ya…=)

    I am not too familiar with the details of Mahabaratha, but according to my husband the cool thing about the story is, that all characters are in the grey area. Pandawa that known as the good guy have some devilish side and so does Kurawa, not all of them are evil.

    1. Hahaha, that would be awesome if Peter Jackson manage to direct the movie, really. But one for sure, that he has to read all of the stories first to catch the essence.
      Yes, there are some interesting fact that Kurusetra field is actually exist. In fact, if I’m not mistaken, the Hindus believe that Mahabarata and Ramayana are based on an actual fact.
      Such a wonderful legend from a wonderful people.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. its not daydreaming, it may actually happen one day. But still its a long way for indonesia’s cinema to reach that level. This August, we will see how far Indonesia’s movie has developed. From Merantau to Merah Putih, we maybe closer to Mahabrata Epic now๐Ÿ˜€

    (ps: Merah Putih budget was around Rp60 M – ~US$6,000,000)

    1. Yup, can’t wait to see either Merantau and Merah Putih. Looks awesome, though.๐Ÿ˜€
      Hope all of this could happen one day, and I shall change my title with “Dream Comes True”๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

